When hearing suddenly

turns into

understanding...

While "hearing" begins in the ears, actual "understanding" takes place somewhere in between. The hearing process consists of two main components:

 

  • Peripheral hearing: Sounds are received through the outer and middle ear and passed to the inner ear. Sound conversion takes place here.

  • Central hearing: Sound is further processed over the auditory pathway and transmitted to the central nervous system for perception.

Conventional hearing aids are used for peripheral hearing. Simply put, sound is amplified by the hearing aid and the signal is received more loudly. If a person has been hard of hearing for years, though, communication between peripheral and central hearing is disrupted. This is because the brain has simply forgotten how to perceive and process sound, no matter how loud it is. This also explains why many people still cannot hear properly despite wearing a hearing aid. And this is where the sentibo smart brain System comes into play.

sentibo Phase 1: Analysis & adaptation

With the help of an innovative sentibo app, the peripheral and central hearing performance of the customer is first analysed. The analysis only takes a few minutes and is performed by trained experts using the iPad. Based on the results, an individual hearing profile is created, which is used to optimally configure the sentibo Twins. These small in-ear-devices were specially designed for the sentibo smart brain System. The first experience with our Twins is unforgettable for most users. They completely rediscover their sense of hearing. Memories of earlier times are awoken. Users become more self-assured.

sentibo Phase 2: smart brain journey

The real journey begins with the second phase, though. We call it the "smart brain journey" – the heart of our system. This journey is accompanied by our experts and takes about four weeks. Through regular, perfectly coordinated strain or stimulation (active listening) and relaxation ("resting phase") sequences, the link between peripheral and central listening is successively re-established with the aid of the Twins. Auditory deprivation decreases significantly, which leads to a better hearing performance. The results are outstanding, a fact which is confirmed by our international case series. In some cases, our customers do not even need our sentibo Twins after a while because their individual hearing performance has improved so much.

What makes sentibo® so unique?

 

This is what makes sentibo® so unique!

A personal with normal hearing can hear frequencies of up to 16,000 hertz. This range corresponds to 24 Barks (frequency groups) and allows for precise hearing and comprehension even where ambient noise is 7 dB louder than the language being spoken. When hearing loss occurs and the auditory threshold is lowered as a result, there is also a lowering of various frequency groups, particularly at high-pitch frequencies. This causes gaps in communication. The greater the hearing loss, the more frequent the issues with language comprehension and the less able the brain is to reconstruct the information lost in communication.

 

 

In order to map as many frequency groups as possible, the sentibo®PRO Series hearing devices work with open dynamics and are able to transmit many more Barks than conventional hearing aids.

 

In the following example, using the word “pineapple”, we would like to demonstrate the hearing of a person with normal hearing, of a person with hearing loss, of a person using hearing aids without sentibo®, and of a person using the sentibo®SMART as well as sentibo®PRO devices:

signison GmbH · Ingelheimer Straße 11 · D-65385 Rüdesheim

Tel.: +49 6722 94612-0 · Fax: +49 6722 94612-10

 service@signison.de · www.signison.de

This is what makes sentibo® so unique!

A personal with normal hearing can hear frequencies of up to 16,000 hertz. This range corresponds to 24 Barks (frequency groups) and allows for precise hearing and comprehension even where ambient noise is 7 dB louder than the language being spoken. When hearing loss occurs and the auditory threshold is lowered as a result, there is also a lowering of various frequency groups, particularly at high-pitch frequencies. This causes gaps in communication. The greater the hearing loss, the more frequent the issues with language comprehension and the less able the brain is to reconstruct the information lost in communication.

 

In order to map as many frequency groups as possible, the sentibo®PRO Series hearing devices work with open dynamics and are able to transmit many more Barks than conventional hearing aids.

 

In the following example, using the word “pineapple”, we would like to demonstrate the hearing of a person with normal hearing, of a person with hearing loss, of a person using hearing aids without sentibo®, and of a person using the sentibo®SMART as well as sentibo®PRO devices:

(Zu)hören:

Leider verlernt

„Hören“ beginnt zwar in den Ohren, aber das eigentliche „Verstehen“ findet dazwischen statt. Der Hörprozess besteht aus zwei wesentlichen Bestandteilen:

 

  • Peripheres Hören: Geräusche werden über das Außen- und Mittelohr aufgenommen und an das Innenohr weitergeleitet. Hier findet die Schallumwandlung statt.

  • Zentrales Hören: Über die Hörbahn wird der Schall weiterverarbeitet und zur Wahrnehmung an das zentrale Nervensystem weitergegeben.

 

Konventionelle Hörgeräte setzen beim peripheren Hören an. Der Schall wird, vereinfacht gesagt, über das Hörgerät verstärkt und die Signale kommen lauter an. Wenn aber ein Mensch seit Jahren schwer hört, dann ist die Kommunikation zwischen peripherem und zentralem Hören gestört. Denn das Gehirn hat es schlichtweg verlernt, den Schall – egal wie laut er ist – wahrzunehmen und zu verarbeiten. Das erklärt auch, warum viele Menschen trotz eines Hörgeräts immer noch nicht richtig hören können. Und genau hier setzt das sentibo smart brain System an.

sentibo Phase 1: Analyse & Anpassung

Mit Hilfe einer innovativen sentibo App wird zunächst die periphere und zentrale Hörleistung des Kunden analysiert und ein Hörprofil erstellt. Die Analyse dauert nur wenige Minuten und wird von geschulten Experten am iPad durchgeführt. Mit Hilfe der Analysewerte werden die sentibo Twins innerhalb kürzester Zeit optimal für den Kunden eingerichtet. Die kleinen, speziell für das sentibo smart brain System entwickelten Geräte sitzen perfekt im Ohr. Das erste Hörerlebnis mit unseren Twins ist für die meisten Nutzer unvergesslich. Sie entdecken ihren Hörsinn völlig neu. Erinnerungen an früher werden geweckt. Sie werden schlagartig selbstbewusster. Ein pures Glücksgefühl!

sentibo Phase 2: smart brain journey

Mit der zweiten Phase beginnt allerdings erst die wirkliche Reise. Denn nun kommt die so genannte „smart brain journey“ – das Herzstück unseres Systems. Die Reise wird von unseren Experten begleitet und dauert rund vier Wochen. Durch regelmäßige, perfekt aufeinander abgestimmte Belastungs- und Entspannungs-Sequenzen wird mit Hilfe der Twins die Verknüpfung zwischen peripherem und zentralem Hören sukzessive wieder aufgebaut. Die Hörentwöhnung lässt signifikant nach, was zu einer besseren Hörleistung führt. Die Ergebnisse sind erstaunlich, das dokumentieren auch unsere internationalen Anwendungsbeobachtungen. In manchen Fällen benötigen unsere Kunden nicht einmal mehr unsere sentibo Twins, weil sich die Hörleistung so stark verbessert hat.

Was macht sentibo® so einzigartig?

 

Das macht sentibo® so einzigartig!

Einem Normalhörenden steht insgesamt eine Hörbandbreite von bis zu 16.000 Hertz zur Verfügung. Diese Bandbreite entspricht 24 Barks (Frequenzgruppen) und ermöglicht das präzise Hören und Verstehen sogar bei Umgebungslärm, der 7 dB lauter ist, als die Sprache. Durch einen Hörverlust und der daraus entstehenden Absenkung der Hörschwelle, resultiert eine Absenkung verschiedener Frequenzgruppen, besonders im Hochtonbereich. Es entstehen Informationslücken. Je größer der Hörverlust ist, umso größer ist der Informationsverlust der  Sprache und desto weniger kann das Gehirn Informationslücken rekonstruieren.

 

 

Um so viele Frequenzgruppen wie möglich abzubilden, arbeiten die Hörgeräte der sentibo®PRO-Serie mit offener Dynamik und einer Übertragung von erheblich mehr Barks als herkömmliche Hörgeräte.

 

Am folgenden Beispiel möchten wir anhand des Wortes „Ananas“ das Hören des Normalhörenden, Hören mit Hörverlust, Hören mit Hörgeräten ohne sentibo®, Hören mit sentibo®SMART und sentibo®PRO darstellen:

signison GmbH · Ingelheimer Straße 11 · D-65385 Rüdesheim

Tel.: +49 6722 94612-0 · Fax: +49 6722 94612-10

 service@signison.de · www.signison.de

Das macht sentibo® so einzigartig!

Einem Normalhörenden steht insgesamt eine Hörbandbreite von bis zu 16.000 Hertz zur Verfügung. Diese Bandbreite entspricht 24 Barks (Frequenzgruppen) und ermöglicht das präzise Hören und Verstehen sogar bei Umgebungslärm, der 7 dB lauter ist, als die Sprache. Durch einen Hörverlust und der daraus entstehenden Absenkung der Hörschwelle, resultiert eine Absenkung verschiedener Frequenzgruppen, besonders im Hochtonbereich. Es entstehen Informationslücken. Je größer der Hörverlust ist, umso größer ist der Informationsverlust der  Sprache und desto weniger kann das Gehirn Informationslücken rekonstruieren.

 

Um so viele Frequenzgruppen wie möglich abzubilden, arbeiten die Hörgeräte der sentibo®PRO-Serie mit offener Dynamik und einer Übertragung von erheblich mehr Barks als herkömmliche Hörgeräte.

 

Am folgenden Beispiel möchten wir anhand des Wortes „Ananas“ das Hören des Normalhörenden, Hören mit Hörverlust, Hören mit Hörgeräten ohne sentibo®, Hören mit sentibo®SMART und sentibo®PRO darstellen: